Flying High, In Style

If I am flying I will definitely include a few extra items in my carry on. I usually fly Southwest (free baggage, whattttt) and can check in the day before pretty quickly so I board in the A group frequently. Because of this I will bring a backpack as my carry on. I throw all my shiz in the pack, walk on the plane, find the first window seat available (usually within the first 5 rows, I call those Southwest first class, because everyone likes the aisle for some reason, and throw my bag under the seat and I’m set. I need easy access to what I have specifically packed:

Don't overpack

  1. Blanket – I’m always cold
  2. Inflatable neck pillow – for neck or lower back
  3. Earplugs – you KNOW I can’t handle people talking around me
  4. Book – not any of that Kindle crap, I want a real book
  5. Granola bar – already hungry, hurry up with the pretzels, this bar’s going fast…
  6. Southwest free drink tickets – yup

Boom, ready to fly. If it’s super early or late, I’ll bust out an eyemask to ensure I get some sleep. My husband usually falls asleep before they even give the safety spiel, so jealous.

My ultimate outfit for airports and flying:

Fool proof Trip outfit

Nobody wants to grudge through security shlepping a bunch of crap so I like to keep super simple. I put all the necessities in my backpack, including purse items. I don’t want to have to worry about my purse and backpack and carry-on so I consolidate. I usually bring my laptop so I like my old college pack since it has a cushion spot just for my computer.

Then as far as my outfit is concerned, I want something comfortable and minimal. But layering is great for coast to coast travel and temperature of the plane. Leggings are my best bet. Downfall being no pockets but that’s what I have my pack for! I like long socks and I’ll want to bring boots on my trip anyway so it saves room in my suitcase if I wear them. Then I pair my leggings with a long top. Gotta cover that butt because leggin’s a’int pants. Period.

Depending on the time of year and where I am traveling, tank top or long sleeve really just depends. I like to know if it gets to warm, I can escape from my sweater to cool down. That brings me to my last piece of clothing, a flowy sweater. I love the lack of restraint, very simple. Then again, depending on how cold it is, I will wear the one heavy coat I want to bring on the trip so I can, again, save room in my luggage for all the crap I won’t wear!

Then last but not least, a nice soft scarf. Gotta have the infinity wrap around, another way to add layers. Then I like to have my watch so I’m not constantly pulling out my phone throughout the terminal.

And voilà, that’s my perfect flying outfit! What are your go to outfits? Keepin’ it simple or dress to impress… TSA?

 

everyday i'm strugglin' (2)

Sound Off:

