viva ivivva

It’s now been almost 3 years since I began this life-changing journey with ivivva. I say life-changing literally because I went from a place of such negative energy and a dream crushing environment that I didn’t think I would ever find a career I enjoyed. Then I applied to work for lululemon.

Miserable at work for the umpteenth time, I decided that if I was going to sit around and not be utilized to my fullest potential then I might as well sell stretchy pants. I didn’t know a thing about the brand, culture, heck I may have only stepped into the store once in my life. But I applied to what I thought was the position of a lululemon Assistant Manager. I was qualified and desperate for change.

 

In the next week or so I received an email to meet with the manager and interview at a coffee shop. Still being full time, I had to sneak away at lunch and was curious to know why were weren’t meeting at the mall… where the lululemon was. It wasn’t until about 5 minutes into the conversation I realized I hadn’t applied to lululemon, I applied to ivivva, a brand of the parent company but just for girls. Young, athletic, empowered girls. Jackpot.

The excitement was bubbling within me and I knew this was too good to be true with the more information I was learning. I would be assisting in building out a showroom and choosing paint colors, hosting community parties with 12 year olds, and sweating in my community. I had the opportunity to share my dreams and goals with my team and be held accountable for them. The company cared about my personal conquests just as much as my career aspirations. It just kept getting better and better.

I went back to work beaming and knew the job was meant for me. All the proverbial pain and suffering through my past & present would all be for the caring & enthusiastic future! I had made such a connection with the manager, E, and had felt so confident in my answers that were truly how I felt, that I prayed this would be it. This would be what I was meant to do.

With a preplanned trip to vegas, I was hearing phantom rings of my cell phone or imaginary vibrations for an email. When we returned I met with E again and spoke with the Regional Manager. Each time I felt increasingly ready to take on this job and join the company. I attended a conference celebrating women in leadership and  while I was in a breakout group about negotiating pay, my phone was vibrating in my purse. I ran outside and answered to hear E’s voice offering me the position! And for the salary I was hoping for! I couldn’t wait to accept but, of course, played it cool and told her I’d get back to her in the morning. The best part? B and a couple of our friends were at the conference and I was able to immediately tell them. Perfect timing!

After I accepted, the next weeks were a whirlwind of training, community events, yoga, painting the showroom, ikea day-tripping, shelf assembling, and social media blasting. We were creating a place for girls to feel strong and confident and also find some athletic wear. But the retail was never first. It was always about the girls (and still is!) and that’s what made everything so fantastic. Our main focus was setting up the showroom and connecting our community. It was truly ‘living the dream’.

Sound Off:

